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GENERAL INFORMATION 

 
Please read Chapter 468, Part I, Florida Statutes (F.S.) and Title 64B20, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), prior to 
completing the application forms.  You must read the laws and rules in order to determine your eligibility prior to applying.  
The laws and rules can be found on our website at: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/speech/index.html. 
 
Within 30 days of receipt of your application and fees, you will be sent a letter informing you of your application status 
including any deficiencies.  If you do not receive notice within 40 days that your application has been received, contact this 
office at (850) 245-4161. 
 
MAILING ADDRESS:  Please use the below addresses as they apply. Please include your full name and social security 
number on any correspondence or documentation.   
 
 ORIGINAL APPLICATION with SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS AND FEES TO: 

Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
P. O. BOX 6330 
Tallahassee, FL  32314-6330 

 
ADDITIONAL DOCUMENTS SENT SEPARATE FROM THE APPLICATION TO: 
Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin C06 
Tallahassee, FL  32399-3256 

 
APPEARANCES:  Certain applicants may be required to appear before the Board to discuss his or her application before 
a determination of licensure can be made.  An appearance may be required for a variety of reasons, such as: 
▪ Criminal or disciplinary history 
▪ Education equivalency 
▪ Impairment 
▪ Other reasons as deemed necessary by the Board 
 
Appearances are determined on a case by case basis.  Board office staff does not determine the necessity of an 
appearance.  Should your appearance be required, you will be notified of the exact date, time and location of the meeting 
at which your appearance is necessary.   
 
If you believe you may be required to appear before the Board it is recommended you submit your application several 
months in advance of the meeting for which you wish to appear. You may view the Board’s meeting dates and locations 
on its website at: http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/speech/index.html. 
 
ADDRESS NOTE: Your location address will be published on the Internet licensure lookup screen.  Our licensure 
database requires two addresses for each licensee.  One is the mailing address and the other is the location address.  
The “mailing address” is used whenever information is mailed to the applicant/licensee.  If you only provide one address, it 
will be used for both the mailing address and the location address. 
 
ADDRESS CHANGE: If you have a change of address, you must provide written notification to the Board office.  Include 
your full name, old address, and new address, and whether this is your mailing address or your location address. 

 
 

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS 
 
All applicants are required to complete and/or submit the following, except where not applicable: 
  
REQUIRED FEES:  Please make your cashiers check or money order payable to the Department of Health.  The total fee 
that you are required to submit is based on the application completion or license issuance date.  All licenses expire on 
December 31 of odd numbered years.  
 
License Issued August 1 of the odd numbered year 
through December 31 of the even numbered year:  

License issued January 1 of the odd numbered year 
through July 31 of the odd numbered year: 

Total Fee: $280.00 ($75.00 non-refundable application 
fee, $200.00 licensure fee, $5.00 unlicensed activity fee) 

Total Fee: $180.00 ($75.00 non-refundable application fee, 
$100.00 licensure fee, $5.00 unlicensed activity fee) 
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COMPLETING THE APPLICATION:  Questions must be answered fully and truthfully; there are no questions that are not 
applicable.  Obtaining a license by fraudulent misrepresentation is grounds for denial of your application or revocation of 
your license (Section 468.1295(1)(a), F.S.).  You must sign and date the application.  It is your responsibility to notify this 
office in writing if the answers to any of these questions change, even if the application is already approved. 
 
LICENSE /CERTIFICATION VERIFICATION: You must request that verification of any license to practice any profession 
that you now hold or have ever held in any state, U.S. territory or foreign country be mailed directly from the other 
licensing entity to the Board Office.  A copy of your license is not considered verification. Some states/countries may 
require you to send them a License Verification Form.  The form is available on our website for your convenience.     
 
HIV / AIDS COURSE: Section 468.1201, F.S. requires completion of a one (1) hour education course on human 
immunodeficiency virus and acquired immune deficiency syndrome from any Florida health profession Board approved 
provider.  
 
PREVENTION OF MEDICAL ERRORS COURSE: Section 456.013(7), F.S., requires completion of a two (2) hour 
education course relating to prevention of medical errors from a Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology 
approved provider. 
 
To obtain a list of approved providers, please visit CEBroker at www.cebroker.com or call (877) 434-6323 for assistance. 
 
APPLICANT HISTORY QUESTIONS – REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION:  If you answer “yes” to any of the questions in 
the sections regarding criminal, health, or professional history, the required supporting documentation is listed directly on 
the application.  In instances where court documentation is required but cannot be obtained, you must direct the Clerk of 
Courts to send a letter advising the Board that the documentation is no longer available. 
 

Additional Supplemental Documentation 

METHOD OF LICENSURE:  Applicants may qualify for licensure based one of three methods.  Below is a list of additional 
documentation required based on your licensure method.   

 
1.  Licensure by Evaluation of Credentials – The following information is required: 
 

 EXPERIENCE:  Pursuant to Rule 64B20-2.004, F.A.C., you must have your supervisor submit the following forms 
(if you had more than one supervisor, each supervisor must submit the following forms): Supplementary 
Evaluation for Each One-Third of the Professional Employment Experience (Form SPA-2B) and 
Supervisory Report for Provisional Licensees (Form SPA-2C).  These forms can be obtained from our website: 
http://www.doh.state.fl.us/mqa/speech/index.html. 

 
 OFFICIAL TRANSCRIPT:  An official transcript(s) must be sent directly from the school to the Board office and 

must indicate that a master's degree or doctoral degree was conferred.  If you did not graduate from a Council for 
Higher Education accredited program, verification of the number of hours of supervised clinical practice must also 
be included on the transcript. 

 
 FOREIGN EDUCATION: In order for the Board to consider any education completed outside the U.S. or Canada, 

documentation must be received which verifies that the institution at which the education was completed was 
equivalent to an accredited U.S. institution.  Documentation must also be received which verifies that the 
coursework met the content and credit hour requirement for coursework in the U.S.  It is the applicant's 
responsibility to obtain an evaluation from a recognized educational evaluation service that documents the 
acceptability of the coursework.  Note- A certified translator who is not related to the applicant must translate any 
document that is in a language other than English. 

 
 NATIONAL EXAM:  You must have an official score report submitted directly to the Board office by Educational 

Testing Services (ETS).  The score must be within 3 years of the date of this application for licensure.   
 
2.  Licensure by Endorsement Based on Certificate of Clinical Competence (CCC) from ASHA – The following 
information is required: 

 
 CERTIFICATE OF CLINICAL COMPETENCE FROM ASHA:  You must request ASHA to submit a letter directly 

to the Board office verifying your status. 
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3.  Licensure by Endorsement from Another State or Territory of the United States (license must be valid and 
active) – The following information is required: 
 

 LAWS AND RULES:  Submit a copy of the laws and rules of the state or U.S. territory outlining the criteria for 
licensure at the time you received that license.  The criteria must be substantially similar or equivalent to the 
licensure requirements in Florida at that time.  Note- if you received your license through grandfathering or 
reciprocity you may not qualify for licensure under this method.  
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APPLICATION FOR ACTIVE LICENSE 
Check the box for the profession in which you are applying for licensure: 
  Speech-Language Pathologist (3001)  Audiologist (3002) 

Check one of the following licensure methods: 
 Licensure by Evaluation of Credentials (1020) 
 Licensure by Endorsement Based on CCC from ASHA (1022) 
 Licensure by Endorsement Based on Licensure from Another State or U.S. Territory (1021) List the state or U.S. territory from which 
you are endorsing: ________________ 

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical assistance teams during times 
of emergency or major disaster?   [    ] Yes    [    ] No 

 

1.  APPLICANT DATA 

NAME:  

 

                Last                                                                First                                                                         Middle 

MAILING 
ADDRESS: 

Number and Street                                                      Apt. # 

 

City                                 State                        Zip Code 

PRACTICE  
LOCATION 
ADDRESS: 

Number and Street                                                       Apt # 

 

City                                 State                        Zip Code 

Home Telephone Number 

 

Business Telephone Number Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)         

Email Address: _______________________________________________________________________ 

Email Notification: If you want to receive notices regarding your application deficiencies by email only, please check the “yes” box. If 
you chose this form of notification, you will receive deficiency notices regarding your application through email only. You will be 
responsible for checking your e-mail regularly and updating your e-mail address with the Board. 

I want to be notified by e-mail only:   Yes      No 

Have you ever changed your name through marriage or through action of a court, or have you ever been known by any other name?       
  Yes      No         If YES, list all names below: 

 

2.  APPLICANT LICENSURE DATA 
Do you hold or have you ever held a license and/or certificate to practice any profession in any state, U.S. territory, or foreign country?     
    Yes           No 

If YES, list all licenses and/or certificates and the issuing state, territory, or foreign country below.  Each issuing state, territory, or foreign 
country must submit a license/certification verification form. 

TYPE OF 
LICENSE/CERTIFICATE 

LICENSE NUMBER ISSUING STATE, 
TERRITORY, FOREIGN 

COUNTRY 

CURRENT LICENSE 
STATUS 

    

    

    

3.  EQUAL OPPORTUNITY DATA 
We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with Section 2, Uniformed 
Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978) 43 FR38295 August 25, 1978.  This information is gathered for statistical and reporting 
purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 
 

RACE: Caucasian [  ]     Black [  ]     Hispanic [  ]     Asian [  ]     Native American [  ]     Other [  ] __________________ 
SEX: Male [  ]  Female [  ] 
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4.  EDUCATIONAL DATA 
 Undergraduate
 Degree 

 Major/Specialty  Accredited School
 City/State/Country 

 Date of
 Graduation 

 
1.________________  
 
 
 
2.________________ 
 
 
 
3.________________ 
 

 
1.___________________________ 
 
 
 
2.___________________________ 
 
 
 
3.___________________________ 
 

 
1._______________________________  
 
 
 
2._______________________________ 
 
 

3._______________________________ 

 

 
1._________ 
 
 
 
2._________ 
 
 
 
3._________ 

A. I have completed the Prevention of Medical Errors course required by Florida Statute, as defined 
by Rule 64B20-2.001(3), F.A.C.  If yes, provide the course and provider information below.  If no, send 
a copy of the certificate once completed. 
 
Provider Name:_____________________________________________________ 
Provider Number:___________________________________________________ 
Course Name/Title:__________________________________________________ 
Date Completed:____________________________________________________ 

 
B. I have completed the HIV/AIDS course required by Florida Statute, as defined by Rule 64B20-
2.007, F.A.C.  If yes, provide the course and provider information below.  If no, send a copy of the 
certificate once completed. See also Section 468.1201, F.S. 
 
Provider Name:_____________________________________________________ 
Provider Number:___________________________________________________ 
Course Name/Title:__________________________________________________ 
Date Completed:____________________________________________________ 

 

Yes   No 

 
 
 
 
 
 
Yes   No 

 

5.  APPLICANT HISTORY – PROFESSIONAL 
If you answer “yes” to any question in this section, you must provide the following documentation WITH the application at 
the time of submission: 

1. A self-explanation including details as to the state(s), license number(s), date(s), and relevant circumstances. 
2. A copy of the complaint and disposition for each case. 
3. A copy of any documentation from the state regarding the final actions/outcome of the issue. 

A.  Have you ever been denied a license/certificate to practice Speech-Language Pathology and/or 
Audiology or the renewal thereof in any state, U.S. Territory or foreign country? 

Yes   No 

 
B. Have you ever had a license/certificate to practice a profession revoked, suspended, or otherwise 

acted against (including probation, fine, reprimand or surrender in lieu of disciplinary action) in a 
disciplinary proceeding in any state, U.S. Territory or foreign country? 

Yes   No 

 

C. Are you now or have you ever been a defendant in civil litigation in which the basis of the complaint 
against you was alleged negligence, malpractice or lack of professional competence? 

Yes   No 

 
D. Is there a complaint currently pending against you in any jurisdiction, or an investigation of your 

professional conduct or competency in any profession? 
Yes   No 
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6.  APPLICANT HISTORY – CRIMINAL  
If you answer “yes” to the question below, you must provide the following WITH the application at the time of submission: 

1. A self-explanation regarding the charges on a separate sheet.  
2. Copies of all pertinent court and arrest documents, including arrest report, official charge documentation and 

current disposition.  This should include sentencing due to the arrest and proof of successful completion of your 
sentencing. These documents can be obtained from the clerk of court in the county the offense occurred. 

A. Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest  to, a 
crime in any jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense?  You must include all misdemeanors and 
felonies, even if adjudication was withheld.  Driving under the influence or driving while impaired is not a minor 
traffic offense for purposes of this question. 

Yes   No 
 

7.  APPLICANT HISTORY – 456.0635(2), F.S.  
Applicants for licensure, certification or registration and candidates for examination may be excluded from licensure, 
certification or registration if their felony conviction falls into certain timeframes as established in Section 456.0635(2), 
Florida Statutes. If you answer YES to any of the following questions, please provide a written explanation for each 
question including the county and state of each termination or conviction, date of each termination or conviction, and 
copies of supporting documentation to the address below. Supporting documentation includes court dispositions or 
agency orders where applicable. 
1.  Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a 

felony under Chapter 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), Chapter 817, F.S. (relating to 
fraudulent practices), Chapter 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control) or a similar felony 
offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction? (If you responded “no”, skip to #2.) 

 
a. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of the 

plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 
 
b. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than 10 years from the date of the plea, 

sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? (This question does not apply to felonies of the third 
degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes). 

 
c. If “yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under Section 893.13(6)(a), Florida Statutes, has it been more 

than 5 years from the date of the plea, sentence and completion of any subsequent probation? 
 
d. If “yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony 

offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed? (If “yes”, please provide supporting documentation). 

 Yes   No 
 
 
 
 
 Yes   No 
 
 
 Yes   No 
 
 
 
 Yes   No 
 
 
 
 Yes   No 

2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, a 
felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 (relating to controlled substances) or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to 
public health, welfare, Medicare and Medicaid issues)? 

 
a. If “yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any 

subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? 

 Yes   No 
 
 
 
 Yes   No 

3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to Section 409.913, 
Florida Statutes? (If “No”, do not answer 3a.) 

 
a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid Program 

for the most recent five years? 

 Yes   No 
 
 
 Yes   No 

4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from 
any other state Medicaid program? 

 
a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years? 
 
b. Did the termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application? 

 Yes   No 
 
 
 Yes   No 
 
 Yes   No 

5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services Office of Inspector 
General's List of Excluded Individuals and Entities? 

 Yes   No 

6. If “yes” to any of the questions 1 through 5 above, on or before July 1, 2009, were you enrolled in an educational 
or training program in the profession in which you are seeking licensure that was recognized by this 
profession’s licensing board or the Department of Health? (If “yes”, please provide official documentation 
verifying your enrollment status.) 

 Yes   No 
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8. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER AND HEALTH HISTORY:  
 
 

 
CONFIDENTIAL AND EXEMPT FROM PUBLIC RECORDS DISCLOSURE* 

 
Florida Department of Health 

Board of Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology  
Active License Application 

 
Name:____________________________________________________ 
  Last    First    Middle 
 
Social Security Number:____________________________________ 

 
APPLICANT HISTORY – HEALTH   
If questions A-F are answered YES, explain in full on a separate sheet of paper.  Your statement must include, 
but is not limited to, the date(s), location(s), specific circumstances, practitioners and/or treatment involved.  If 
you have been under treatment for emotional/mental illness, chemical dependency, etc., you must request that 
each practitioner, hospital, and program involved in your treatment submit a full, detailed report of such to the 
Board office, to include: treatment received, medications, and dates of treatment and, if applicable, all DSM III 
R/DSM IV/DSM IV-TR Axis I and II diagnosis(es) code(s), and admission and discharge summary(s). 
A.   In the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter into, or participated in any drug or 

alcohol recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment  of drug or alcohol abuse that 
occurred within the within the last five years? 

 Yes   No 

B.  In the last five years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired 
practitioner program for treatment of a diagnosed mental disorder or impairment?                  

 Yes   No 

C.  During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed mental    
disorder that has impaired your ability to practice within the last five years? 

 Yes   No 

D.   In the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical disorder 
that has impaired your ability to practice? 

 Yes   No 

E.   In the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed 
substance-related (alcohol/drug) disorder, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer 
a relapse within the last five years? 

 Yes   No 

F.  During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed related 
(alcohol/drug) disorder that has impaired your ability to practice within the past five years?     

 Yes   No 

 
* This page is exempt from public records disclosure.  The Department of Health is required and 
authorized to collect Social Security Numbers relating to applications for professional licensure 
pursuant to Title 42 USCA § 666 (a)(13).  For all professions regulated under Chapter 456, Florida 
Statutes, the collection of Social Security Numbers is required by section 456.013 (1)(a), Florida 
Statutes. 
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9. APPLICANT STATEMENT 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions, or organizations, personal physicians, employers (past or present), business 
and professional associates (past or present), and all government agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal, or 
foreign) to release to the Department of Health any information, files, or records requested by the Department in 
connection with the processing of this application.  I further authorize the Department to release to the organizations, 
individuals, and groups listed above any information which is material to my application. 
 
I understand that it is my duty and responsibility as an applicant for licensure to supplement my application after it has 
been submitted if and when any material change in circumstances or conditions occur which might affect the Board's 
decision concerning my eligibility for licensure.  Section 456.013(1)(a), F.S., requires such supplement.  Failure to do so 
may result in disciplinary action by the Board including denial of licensure. 
 
I have carefully read the questions in the foregoing application and have answered them completely without reservations 
of any kind, and I declare that my answers and all statements made by me herein are true and correct.  Should I furnish 
any false information on this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension, or 
revocation of any license to practice in the State of Florida the profession for which I am applying. 
 
I hereby acknowledge that I have read Chapter 468, Part I, F.S., Chapter 456, F.S. and related rules.  I understand that it 
is my responsibility to keep informed of any changes to Chapter 468, Part I, F.S., Chapter 456, F.S. and related rules. 
 
I UNDERSTAND THAT I AM NOT PERMITTED TO PRACTICE THE PROFESSION FOR WHICH I AM APPLYING 
UNTIL I AM ISSUED A LICENSE TO PRACTICE THE PROFESSION. 
 
 Applicant's Signature:____________________________________________            Date:_______________________ 
 
  


